Brady/Bieber Fever

For a while now, I’ve said that if I had to come back in another life, and if that had to be the life of any current sports star, I’d lean heavily toward Tom Brady.

I know, I know. I have too much extra time on my hands.

But I’m also the guy who once wrote a high school senior English paper, when reading “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”, that of anybody I’d choose to be, I’d take Al Newman.

Al Newman's the one on the left. Glad I could clear that up for you.

Don’t know Al Newman? Exactly. Remember, this is circa 1994, and Al Newman was a utility infielder with the Montreal Expos and Minnesota Twins. I even have Al Newman’s autograph on, of all things, an All-Star Ballot. Anyway, I chose to be Al Newman because I’d have two World Series rings, would have played major league baseball, would still be in the game as a coach and could eat in any restaurant in the world without being bothered by fans.

Anyway, back to the Tom Brady thing. Dude has it all, from supermodel wife to Super Bowl rings to a classic underdog story. And he looks like Tom Brady. Not a bad life if this one didn’t work out.

But I may need a new choice.

Because this is just too far.

Leave a comment

Filed under Alex Podlogar, Designated Hitter, Minnesota Twins, NFL, Sports, Sports columns, The Sanford Herald

Leave a Reply

