Add Ortiz and Ramirez to the steroid list of 2003

David Ortiz and Many Ramirez (again) busted for steroids.

David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez (again) busted for steroids.

From ESPN and first reported by The New York Times:

Manny Ramirez and David Ortiz tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs in 2003, lawyers with knowledge of the results told The New York Times.

The two were key members of the Boston Red Sox World Series teams in 2004 and 2007.

Ho-hum.

Seriously, ho-hum. Nothing surprises me anymore. And really, we knew this about Big Papi, right? IN 2002 the Minnesota Twins essentially cut Ortiz, and then after signing a bargain deal with the Sox, Ortiz whacks 31 homers and drives in more than 100 runs. And then his numbers kept going up in the next four years. Riiiiiiiggggghhhhhhhttttttt.

And can we have the whole list now? Obviously it’s out there and it’s being leaked more often than the Erin Andrews nude hotel room video.

As for the Red Sox Nation, do those World Series titles feel any differently now? Maybe, maybe not. I’d like to know, because I’d feel a tad odd had the Cubs somehow won in 2003 after hearing about Sammy Sosa’s name on this same list.

I know it was, as Alex Rodriguez, himself a cheat in 2003, said, a “loosey-goosey” era. Fine. But I want to know the guys arrogant enough to flaunt it, and so far they’re some of the biggest stars of the game.

So let’s have it.

Now.

And here are some past comments by Ortiz about steroid use, on Feb. 16, 2009, not long after the A-Rod news broke:

“I think you clean up the game by the testing. I test you, you test positive, you’re going to be out. Period,” Ortiz said. “If I test positive using any kind of banned substance I’m going to disrespect the game, my family, my fans and everybody. And I don’t want to face the situation so I won’t use it. I’m sure everybody is on the same page.”

More:

“Like I said, this game has been hurt, a lot,” said Ortiz. “This is not a players’ game, this is not a team game, it’s a family game. We have a lot of families that live for this game. We have a lot of families that enjoy these games and people who bring their kids to watch these games. And I don’t think this game can take any more. More than 80 or 90 percent of the players [are] playing clean [now]. We’re going through a tough situation all the way around, our soldiers fighting in Iraq, and this game is a distraction for people and the American family. I would like to see some changes and let us just play the game. Guys like myself, I will do what ever it takes to make this game get better. But not everybody’s on the same page, you know what I mean? The game has changed a lot. Just play the game. The game is tough enough. These things we heard from Alex, that was the last thing you want to hear about the baseball game. The guy came out — and he didn’t wait until they took him to the Congress and all that. He was honest.”

More:

“There are a lot of players who have been to federal court being judged like they just killed somebody,” Ortiz said. “I don’t think that is supposed to be happening. If you admitted you were using the stuff, don’t use it any more. You know it’s not good for you. You know it’s not good for the game and lets move on, you know what I mean? All the drama of bringing guys to court and acting like they’re serious criminals, it doesn’t look good for the game. What is happening right now is something that happened in the past. It’s not something that is happening right now.”

And his comment today, July 30, 2009, the day his steroid use was made public:

“I’m not talking about that anymore.”

Surprise, surprise.

And to be fair, here is Ortiz’s statement he released to the media today:

“Today I was informed by a reporter that I was on the 2003 list of MLB players to test positive for performance-enhancing substances. This happened right before our game, and the news blindsided me. I said I had no comment because I wanted to get to the bottom of this.


“I want to talk about the situation and I will when I have more answers. In the meantime I want to let you know how I’m approaching this situation. One, I have already contacted the Players Association to confirm if this report is true. I have just been told that the report is true. Based on the way I have lived my life, I’m surprised to learn I tested positive. Two, I will find out what I tested positive for. And, three, based on whatever I learn, I will share this information with the club and the public. You know me — I will not hide and I will not make excuses.

“I want to thank my family, the Red Sox, my teammates, and the fans for their patience and support.”

Oh look, it’s another “I have no idea what substance possibly could’ve triggered the positive test” excuse.

Haven’t heard that one before. Thanks, Enhanced Papi.

1 Comment

Filed under Alex Podlogar, All-Star Game, Boston Red Sox, Chicago Cubs, David Ortiz, Designated Hitter, L.A. Dodgers, Major League Baseball, Manny Ramirez, Milwaukee Brewers, MLB playoffs, Philadelphia Phillies, Sammy Sosa, Sports, Sports columns, St. Louis Cardinals, Steroids, Steroids in sports, The Sanford Herald, World Series

One response to “Add Ortiz and Ramirez to the steroid list of 2003

  1. Do they serve crow at Fenway?

Leave a Reply

