Richmond postpones making decision

SANFORD — Akeem Richmond’s phone keeps ringing.

And he can’t help but answer it.

With a slew of new last-minute inquiries coming in, and because he says he’s not “100 percent sure,” the Southern Lee star guard and three-time All-State selection said on Thursday that he has postponed making his decision on where he will attend college indefinitely.

“I’ve decided to change my mind and postponed making a decision today,” said Richmond, who had originally set April 23 as a self-imposed deadline to make a choice. “I wasn’t 100 percent sure, and I didn’t want to make a decision and go to a school without being sure of it. I don’t want to be transferring a year or two later.”

Richmond also said that in the last few days he has drawn more interest from other programs, including the Atlantic Coast Conference’s Miami as well as Virginia Commonwealth. Miami has had Triangle-area connections with recruits this season, signing 6-foot-5 Middle Creek guard Garrius Adams.

Richmond did say on Thursday that he also hasn’t trimmed his list of prospective schools. Coming into Thursday, Richmond had narrowed his choices down to Rhode Island, Western Kentucky, Charlotte and South Florida. 

“I haven’t eliminated anybody,” Richmond said. “I basically have the same schools on my list, but some schools might get added.”

Richmond led North Carolina in scoring during his senior season, averaging 29.2 points per game. He finished his stellar four-year career at Southern Lee with 2,846 points.

The 6-foot-1 guard also said on Thursday that he hasn’t set a new deadline for a decision.

“Whenever I feel like I’m ready, that’s when I’ll make my decision,” he said. ‘I just want to be sure.”

Richmond said he wishes things could have been different on Thursday.

“There’s still a lot of pressure, and I’m ready to get it over with,” he said. “But I am glad I have this opportunity.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Akeem Richmond, Designated Hitter, Prep sports, Southern Lee High School, Sports, Sports columns, The Sanford Herald

Leave a Reply

