Michael Phelps — The pot photo and the apology(s)

So Michael Phelps got into a little trouble over the weekend when a photo surfaced of him, ahem, going bongers. An embarrassing moment for sure, and Phelps, who wowed the world in Beijing by winning a record eight gold medals, quickly released an apologetic statement:

“I engaged in behavior which was regrettable and demonstrated bad judgment,” Phelps said. “I’m 23 years old and despite the successes I’ve had in the pool, I acted in a youthful and inappropriate way, not in a manner people have come to expect from me. For this, I am sorry. I promise my fans and the public it will not happen again.”

OK. Except that sounds pretty similar to what Phelps said in 2004 after his DUI arrest:

“Last week, I made a mistake,” Phelps said in November 2004, as quoted by The Washington Post. “Getting in a car with anything to drink is wrong, dangerous and unacceptable. I’m 19 but was taught no matter how old you are, you should always take responsibility for your actions, which I will do.”

He added: “I’m extremely sorry for this. … That’s all I can say right now.”

Well, OK then. Phelps won’t get slapped any harder that for a few embarrassing days, and life will go on and so will America’s love affair with him.

Now, if he were black…

Leave a comment

Filed under Designated Hitter, Michael Phelps, Olympics, Sports, Sports columns, The Sanford Herald

Leave a Reply

