And then this happens

It all started out so well.

The 12-hour drive flew by last Thursday. Friday night’s game was a thriller. Saturday’s game was a heartbreaker, but an eye-opener as well. I had arrived in my Cubs fandom.

And then I woke up on Sunday.

Sick.

As a dog.

With some form of a stomach virus.

And a 12-to-13-hour drive ahead.

I got home, but what was supposed to be a continuation of what I even considered as a well-deserved vacation has since been stalled with hours-long naps and a devotion to the History Channel. I’m supposed to be lounging on a beach right now, a cold one in my hand and my feet in the cool ocean water. I’m still hoping I can make it there before the week is out, but only the waves need to be rolling, not my stomach.

Why am I writing all of this? Am I looking for pity?

No. Just needed a break in between Modern Marvels episodes.

Um, go Cubs or something.

4 Comments

Filed under Chicago Cubs, Designated Hitter, Major League Baseball, Sports, Sports columns, St. Louis Cardinals, The Sanford Herald

4 responses to “And then this happens

  1. Fisher

    If it softens the blow, you guys have Rich Harden now….it’s not every day that you get a 26-year old pitcher with a 2.34 ERA who only makes $4.75M a year. Well done.

    Meanwhile, I get to watch my Braves trade Mark Teixeira at the deadline because we have no hope of resigning him, which once again means some awful platoon at first base, which will be an awesome compliment to a pitching roster filled with 40-year-olds with exploding rotator cuffs.

  2. Eric

    Alex,
    It seems like somebody got to your food for wearing that cubs outfit?

  3. I’m sorry Alex. If it makes you feel any better, we’re bumping up your deadline to 7 each night.

    You think I’m kidding.

  4. designatedhitter

    Fine by me. Can it start tonight?

Leave a Reply

