I need help

I need help.

OK, let me rephrase that. 

I need patience.

Herald sportswriter Randy Quis has made a move in his career and enjoyed his last day at the Herald on Wednesday. I’m sure I’m not the only one who wishes him all the best. Anybody who knows Randy likes him within seconds, and he’s going to be missed around here.

With that said, while the Herald conducts interviews to find Randy’s replacement, the sports department has been cut in half — to me. So instead of having two of us desperately trying to figure out how to be in as many places at once as possible, now we’re down to a single solitary sports writer and editor.

In other words, things are going to be a bit stretched over the next few weeks, so please be patient with the Herald and its sports coverage during this very busy time. We are as short-staffed as we can be, and while we’re actively pursuing applicants for the job, it’s going to take a little time. 

I’ll be out to as many events as possible, I can assure you of that. But over the next few weeks, it will be even more imperative that coaches and/or team parents get results from sporting events to us at the paper. Those can be phoned in directly to my desk at (919) 718-1222 or e-mailed to me at alexp@sanfordherald.com.

Any and all help, as always, is very much appreciated. No one reading our section every day truly knows just how incredible our community’s coaches are in getting information to us. They make our lives that much easier and our product as good as it can be.

With that in mind, please don’t be shy in making sure I get a little help.

2 Comments

Filed under Designated Hitter, The Sanford Herald

2 responses to “I need help

  1. Terry Tipton

    Go ahead Alex. Give the sign to the bullpen. Bring in Jonathan Owens in relief. 🙂

  2. Jon

    No, he needs a lefty!!! Please, not me!!!

    No, Alex knows I’m here to help. But like with Randy, he’ll find somebody who actually knows something about sports. We’ll get through it, but Randy will definitely be missed.

    We need a montage. This will have to do:

    http://jonbowens.wordpress.com/the-burger-challenge/

Leave a Reply

