Do fans care about steroids in sports?

One thing that is kinda cool about writing this blog is that I can monitor something called “blog stats,” which gives me an idea about which posts I write generate the most traffic from readers.

In following the stats over the last week (OK, who am I kidding? I refresh the blog stats page every seven seconds to see if I have any more “views”.), something jumped out at me: my posts about the Mitchell Report, I think, are going largely unnoticed.

At the risk of having my already puny ego chopped even further, I’m hopeful that is not an indictment of my writing ability. Instead, I wonder if it has to do with general apathy about performance-enhancing drugs in baseball.

I keep hearing that the general public doesn’t really care much about steroids, and that the continued coverage of things like the Mitchell Report is really mostly media driven rather than an incessant need of the public to know. I know I care a great deal about the issue, but I wonder if other sports fans feel the same way.

So I’m asking you, faithful reader (the 12 of you out there), to let me know what you think. This isn’t another “what should happen now” pieces about steroids in sports. I really want to know: do sports fans care? Do you want a columnist’s thoughts and news about PEDs in sports?

I’m wondering what the numbers will tell me. I’ll keep you updated.

9 Comments

Filed under Major League Baseball, Sports, Sports columns

9 responses to “Do fans care about steroids in sports?

  1. In actuality, if this scandal were to hit football today (college or pro), a lot more people would care. Baseball is still the best sport, in my mind, to go and watch a game … but it is by no means America’s No. 1 sport anymore. I’d say it’s dropped to third, behind the NFL and the NBA.
    And steroids are a big reason for it.
    Roger Clemens on steroids wouldn’t have NEAR the consequences as Peyton Manning. If we found out tomorrow Tom Brady’s been injecting HGH into his throwing arm, the world would go nuts.
    I still love baseball, but a number of things have caused me to lose interest over the years. My teams (Pittsburgh and Texas) can’t win because of a system that still keeps the small market teams down, save for a few miracle seasons here and there. If you’re not in Boston or New York, the mass media could care less, and the characters in the sport have really lost their luster.
    A-Rod is this sport’s king now, and he has the personality of an accountant.
    So you’ll probably not get many comments on this. Sorry. Maybe you should write about robot choirs.

  2. designatedhitter

    What about “Clash of the Robot Choirs” coming this fall on NBC?

    OK, here’s the thing though about the NFL. What about Shawne Merriman? He got busted for steroid use and missed four games last season — and was still in the conversation for NFL Defensive Player of the Year. Maybe if a face of the game like a Manning or a Brady would be different, but I think fans almost halfway expect NFL players to do whatever it takes to compete. Rodney Harrison was busted this year, and nobody batted an eyelash. Lyle Alzado died of cancer after abusing steroids for two decades, and nothing changed.

    And to think steroids and HGH aren’t widely used in other sports is shortsighted. There is no practical test for HGH, so why not use it? Maybe it explains why Fred Taylor doesn’t suffer from groin pulls every six seconds any more. That’s just speculation, but that’s what we’re left with these days.

  3. Fred Taylor’s punishement is no Pro Bowl.

    I’m only saying baseball has a long way to go to clean up its image. A lot of people DO care, but just not as many as if something like this happened in the 1950s … Mickey Mantle’s only performance enhancing drug was Jim Beam.

  4. designatedhitter

    All true.

  5. gordonanderson

    Players in Mickey Mantle’s era took plenty of PEDs beyond Jim Beam. Amphetamines were a big part of baseball for a long, long time.

    And to go off topic a little bit more, “a few miracle seasons here and there” is pretty wildly incorrect regarding the success of small-market teams, especially since a look at 2007 payrolls will show that six of the top 10 spenders didn’t make the playoffs and two of those didn’t even post winning records. The Yankees haven’t been to a World Series since 2003 and haven’t won one since 2000.

    Small market teams are plenty capable of competing, they just have to use different methods since the Boston-NY approach doesn’t really work with small payrolls. The Rockies were in the World Series this year. San Diego, Cleveland and Arizona were also in the playoffs. 2007 was the first season since 1998 that they didn’t post a winning record. The Florida Marlins have won two World Series’ in the past 10 years. The Braves, whose 2007 payroll was only $10M more than Oakland’s, won every single NL East division title in the 20th century.

  6. gordonanderson

    “2007 was the first season since 1998 that they didn’t post a winning record.”

    I meant to say ‘Oakland’ instead of ‘they.’

  7. Jeff

    THEY don’t want Oakland to have a winning record. Not a BIG enough NAME and no VISORS.

  8. tax payer

    Why are we paying money for congress to investigate? They don’t have better things to do in this country?

  9. Craig

    Yeah, like investigate the Patriots.

Leave a Reply

