Maybe it’s me

Sitting in the Fairview Dairy Bar on Tuesday, where, as anybody knows who’s been there, local radio station WFJA 105.5 FM is piped through the overhead speakers for the patrons’ enjoyment.

Anyway, WFJA, while featuring the burgeoning legends that are Jon Hockaday and Keith Womack on Friday nights, is also known as “Oldies 105.5”. But while I was there enjoying the swiss burger and curly fries, what should come on Oldies radio but Huey Lewis and the News’ “Power of Love.”

Now, being the ’80s child that I am, I knew that this song was from my childhood, crica 1985. It’s from the movie “Back to the Future.” That’s when it all started to dawn on me.

1985!? Oldies? Really? 1985 is classified as Oldies now?

And then it hit me. Vinny Testaverde won the Heisman Trophy in 1987. And after a week of “Vinny used to back up Otto Graham” jokes before his start Sunday with the Panthers, we all know how old and decrepit the 43-year-old Testaverde is.

I’m beginning to realize now how old I am.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “Maybe it’s me

  1. I’ll one-up you … Pearl Jam is played on a lot of “classic rock” stations now.
    That’s 90s stuff, too.

  2. I’m just loving this World Cup, slow to start but exciting now. Who do you think will win?

Leave a Reply

