Razzing Arizona

I’m the biggest baseball fan I know (aside from my best friend Mike, who believes it’s always a good idea to drive 15 hours to see one Sunday night game that gets canceled because of a 1 hour, 48-minute rain delay, but I digress), and yet I don’t even care that much about the NLCS this year.

Maybe it’s the residual pain from the Arizona Diamondbacks sweeping my Chicago Cubs, but I think it goes deeper than that. And it doesn’t have to do with the anonymous Colorado Rockies, either. Heck, I’m in Matt Holliday’s corner when it comes to his MVP candidacy and think that Troy Tulowitzki is a star in the making.

What I think makes me upset about this series are Arizona’s fans — or lack thereof. While Philadelphia Phillies’ and Cubs’ fans are dying for their teams to make a significant run toward a World Series, the Diamondbacks, as of Wednesday, still had 8,000 tickets remaining to be sold for Game 1 of the NLCS.

Um, that wouldn’t happen in either Chicago or Philly.

Those tickets were probably eaten up before the first pitch on Thursday night, but the fact that there was any sort of complacency for a big-league team one step away from playing for a world championship just grates against my baseball soul. There’s something just wrong about that.

And the fans that did show up? They threw debris onto the field when a call went against their team, forcing the umpires to send the teams to their dugouts. Classy.

Oh, and the fans were given towels to wave at critical junctures of the game.

Oooooohhhhh, towels. That’s original.

Go Rockies.

I guess.

4 Comments

Filed under Major League Baseball

4 responses to “Razzing Arizona

  1. gordonanderson

    Yankee fans are the best ever! Go Red Sox! I mean. Shoot me, Alex. Jim Sundberg.

  2. Jon

    Just picture it now…An Indians-Rockies World Series!!! Ratings through the roof, I say.

    This is good for baseball!!!

  3. Kim Pritt

    Do they even bother to hold a World Series when the Yankees don’t make it? 😉

  4. Zachary

    Hey, look at that! Rockies are in the Series. Tulowitz and Holliday are great players and Helton deserves it. I’m rooting for them too. I like the Indians-Rockies idea too. I’d actually watch that one. I was a little upset when the Angels got kicked out.

Leave a Reply

